| |
| | |

Apple Phoon Forum

 Forgot password?
 Register
View: 904|Reply: 4

selling old 3g iphone - questions about how to do it right (erasing etc).

[Copy link]

Post time: 2013-02-26 04:38:38 |Show all posts
Phone and Messaging,  Mail, Contact & Calendar,  Apps,  Basics,  Messages
I have an old 3g i want to sell but am concerned about how to do it right so the next user doesn't get my texts or emails or something after I sell it.
I read about making a few large playlists of music and just loading dumping loading dumping them a few times to kinda write over old info that might be recoverable, not so worried nothing of huge sensitivity but I did it just in case.
I read to do the complete erase content and data thing in general/reset/erase all data and content - do i remove the sim card before or after doing this? I guess I just thought somehow my phone number is tied to this phone somehow serial number wise or something and I didn't want the next user to set it up in itunes use imessage or download a program like viber or pinger (texting) and somehow end up getting my incoming texts as I still have this number just on a new phone.
Thanks for any info on this,
        iPhone 3GS, Mac OS X (10.7)
Reply

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-02-26 10:46:38 |Show all posts
my fault for not updating my profile settings, 3g to 3gs, now iphone 5, the kids were using the 3g's on wifi for youtube and games, now they are using the 3gs's so figured might as well wipe and sell the 3g's if i can get a few $ for them...
Reply

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-02-26 09:21:16 |Show all posts
Thanks wjosten,
I read 3GS on the profile with no iOS version so I assumed the latest. That was my fault.
Reply

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-02-26 07:30:20 |Show all posts
Ah...the iPhone 3G does not support FaceTime, iMessage or iCloud, and the OP states he/she has an "old 3G" thus there are no such settings on an iPhone 3G.
To the OP, BEFORE you do the erase all Settings & Content, plug the phone into a power source first. On an iPhone 3G, depending on content, this "can" take several hours & you do not want your battery to die while this is going on.
Reply

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-02-26 06:27:18 |Show all posts
Settings > Messages > iMessage > Off
Settings > FaceTime > Off
Settings > iCloud > (Scroll Down) Delete Account
Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Content and Settings.
In that order and you're good. I've never removed a SIM before selling and I haven't had any problems. Also they would need a new SIM to activate sevice so any potential for your information going to the device after sold is gone.
Hope that helps
Reply

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Register

Archive| Apple Phoon

2020-11-29 15:07 GMT-8 , Processed in 0.087683 sec., 27 queries .

Powered by Discuz! 7.2

Release 20121101, © 2001-2020

To Top